@Altitude

Empowering people to be creative and productive in-flight.

Archive for August, 2016

THAI Welcomes its First Airbus A350 XWB in Bangkok

Source: thaiairways.com »

Today (31 August 2016), Thai Airways International Public Company Limited (THAI) arranged a ceremony to welcome its first Airbus A350 XWB upon touchdown at Suvarnabhumi Airport in Bangkok, Thailand…

Each seat is fully equipped with a 16 inch [11 inch in economy] touchscreen that can connect to Wi-Fi, communication devices, and electrical plugs.

Continue reading full article »

Sport 24 Coverage Schedule: September 1st – 7th

This week on Sport 24 in-flight: 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers, Formula 1, US Open Tennis, and more!Sport 24 - Sept 1 - 7

The big moments ahead:

US Open Tennis

Round 2

Round 3

Round of 16

Quarter Finals

2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifier

Slovakia vs England

NRL (more…)

CNN International: September Program Highlights

Coming up on CNN International in-flight (Times are in GMT and CET and subject to change)

 

LA In 24 Hours

CNN_In 24HoursCNN’s monthly travel program, ‘In 24 Hours’ returns to screens in September with a visit to Los Angeles.

From the sun-kissed shores of the California coast to the glittering lights of Hollywood, LA has been luring visitors for decades.

‘In 24 Hours’ host James Williams (pictured) goes beyond the surface of Los Angeles to experience some of the unique destinations the city has to offer.

Williams begins his morning with a personal yoga session at the highest point of the Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills with world renowned instructor, Steve Ross. Afterwards, he heads to the fashionable Silver Lake neighborhood to fuel up for the day at Moon Juice, LA’s hottest juice bar, frequented by celebrities like Gwyneth Paltrow.

Williams’ afternoon is spent in an exclusive behind-the-scenes tour of famous TV and movie sets at the Warner Brothers studio lots. Williams receives a rare invitation to an elite, yet mysterious Hollywood institution, the Academy of Magical Arts at The Magic Castle, which has hosted generations of talent, from Cary Grant and Ronald Reagan, to Johnny Depp and Neil Patrick Harris.

Whether it’s a movie premiere or an awards show, LA’s secret fashion showrooms are how the A-listers in Hollywood look their best.

One of the biggest celebrity stylists in town, Jeanne Yang, opens the doors to one of these showrooms to ‘In 24 Hours’ to help find Williams the perfect look for his evening out on the town with the ‘Kings of Nightlife’, Jonnie and Mark Houston at their newest venue, Break Room 86.

Celebrity guest and Los Angeles Lakers basketball legend Shaquille O’Neal concludes ‘LA in 24 Hours’ sharing his favorite experiences of the city with Williams.

 

Wednesday 7 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 10 September at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Sunday 11 September at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

http://www.cnn.com/travel
#CNNTravel


Traders

CNN_Traders‘Traders’ on CNN International explores the stories of enterprising individuals and businesses worldwide which go the extra mile to trade across borders.

The series covers the global import and export markets, meeting figures who have found great success in trading their goods overseas.

The first ‘Traders’ segment focuses on Savoir Beds in London, England. Founded in 1905, Savoir Beds are the official bed-maker for London’s famous Savoy Hotel, and until now, their comfort was an experience that was previously only available as a hotel guest.

Today, beds are now made to order, and ‘Traders’ discovers how the comfort and handcraft of Savoir Beds have resulted in great success in American and Asian markets.

‘Traders’ follows the export of a Savoir Bed to a showroom in New York City, and hears more about the company’s hope for future expansion into foreign markets.

 

Wednesday 31 August at 1100 BST / 1200 CET (airs on ‘CNNMoney View with Nina Dos Santos’)

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/world/traders


Living Golf

CNN_Living GolfIn September, ‘Living Golf’ hosted by Shane O’Donoghue (pictured) previews the forthcoming Ryder Cup, the biennial competition between the USA and Europe, with reflections on 1985, the year that breathed new life into the contest.

Famed for being one of the most competitive occasions in sport, ‘Living Golf’ discovers that the rivalry between the two teams was as fierce in Wishaw, Warwickshire, England, 31 years ago as it is today.

With the United States having not lost the tournament since 1957, they were overwhelming favourites to win the trophy again on European soil. However, Europe’s eventual victory in 1985 would ultimately impact the future of the Ryder Cup for years to come.

‘Living Golf’ commemorates the occasion by speaking to some of the former players involved in the tournament, including Tony Jacklin, Bernard Gallacher, Sam Torrance, Bernhard Langer, Craig Stadler and Peter Alliss.

Having won 10 out of the last 15 Ryder Cup tournaments, ‘Living Golf’ examines how a number of topics in 1985, such as Art of Captaincy and Matchplay still resonate today in 2016, and how the cup still stirs up such a rivalry.

 

Thursday 8 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 10 September at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Sunday 11 September at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/golf/


The CircuitCNN_The Circuit

As the driver market begins to take shape for the 2017 season, ‘The Circuit’ meets the hottest prospects vying for their chance in Formula One.

Host Amanda Davies goes karting with McLaren’s reserve driver Stoffel Vandoorne (pictured), strongly tipped to replace Jenson Button at the team next season.

‘The Circuit’ also features Manor F1 drivers Pascal Wehrlein and Esteban Ocon. The programme explores the factors that will determine whether these Mercedes-backed young drivers turn their potential into stardom.

 

Friday 9 September at 1630 BST / 1730 CET and 2330 BST / 0030 CET

Saturday 10 September at 2030 BST / 2130 CET

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/motorsport/

#CNNTheCircuit


CNN Style: Copenhagen

CNNStyle_Derek BlasbergThe next ‘CNN Style’ explores the essence of Scandi cool – with a programme from Copenhagen, Denmark.

Host Derek Blasberg delves into the history of the Nordic aesthetic with the nation’s leading cultural exports: award winning architect Bjarke Ingels; the world famous contemporary artist Olafur Eliasson best known for his “Weather Project” at Tate Modern in London; and design duo Gamfratesi – proclaimed in the design world as the heirs to Danish Modernism in furniture design.

From Nordic furniture to the Nordic fashion scene, Blasberg meets the nation’s most celebrated blogger and stylist – Pernille Teisbaek. Teisbaek shares her tips on conquering the web with her take on Scandi style and the rise of sustainable fashion in Denmark.

Model Freja Beha Erichsen is arguably Denmark’s most renowned fashion export. Best known as a muse to Karl Lagerfeld, Erichsen has fronted campaigns for Chanel, Gucci and Valentino among many others. She takes ‘CNN Style’ to visit Copenhagen’s curiosities, among them the rebel enclave Christiania – a lawless place prized for its freedom of expression.

 

Saturday 10 September at 1330 BST / 1430 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Sunday 11 September at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

http://edition.cnn.com/style


 

India all set to permit in-flight Wi-Fi on all civilian flights

Source: mashable.com »

For years, air travelers in India have complained about the unavailability of internet connectivity on flights. But those days will soon be behind them. The Indian government is all set to announce a set of reforms which will let airlines offer in-flight Wi-Fi on all flights over Indian airspace.

Continue reading full article »

Sport 24 Coverage Schedule: August 26th – 31st

Premier League and Bundesliga are back! Sport 24 offers passengers LIVE coverage in-flight.Sport 24 - Aug 26 - 31

The big moments ahead:

Premier League 

Tottenham Hotspur vs Liverpool

Leicester City vs Swansea City

Hull City vs Manchester United

Manchester City vs West Ham United

Bundesliga

FC Bayern Munich vs SV Werder Bremen

US Open Tennis (more…)

Qantas boosts inflight Internet, plans live streaming of cricket

Source: ausbt.com.au »

Qantas plans to offer inflight Internet access on every aircraft in its domestic fleet and is looking to extend sky-high WiFi across its international network as well. With a trial to take place on its Boeing 737 and Airbus A330 aircraft towards the end of the year, the Roo will complete the roll-out of inflight WiFi in 2017 and is in the final stages of securing the tech for its QantasLink Boeing 717s and Dash 8s, along with its Network Aviation Fokker 100s.

Continue reading full article »

Japan Airlines offers free inflight WiFi (for the first 15 minutes)

Source: ausbt.com.au »

Japan Airlines is now offering 15 minutes of free inflight Internet to all passengers on domestic flights, through to March 31, 2017. The Oneworld member currently has 69 domestic aircraft equipped with Inflight WiFi courtesy of GoGo, with all 77 jets in its of its domestic feel upgraded for sky-high surfing by March 2017.

Continue reading full article »

Sabre adds discounted passes for Gogo inflight WiFi

Source: travelweekly.com »

Sabre-connected travel agents have access to discounted passes for Gogo’s inflight WiFi. The passes are available in the Sabre Red App Centre.
According to Gogo, agents who book their customer’s travel using the Sabre Red App will be able to offer WiFi passes at a discount.

Continue reading full article »

Gogo to launch in-flight connectivity service in China

Source: telecompaper.com »

In-flight connectivity provider Gogo has received regulatory approval from Chinese regulatory bodies through its local partner China Telecom Satellite, and will work with China Telecom Satellite to offer in-flight connectivity service on International flights operating in and out of China starting in October.

Continue reading full article »

Aeromexico Brings Live Sports and News to its International Fleet

Source: panasonic.aero »

Aeromexico, Mexico’s global airline, in partnership with Panasonic Avionics, today announced it has added live television to its Boeing 787 Dreamliner aircrafts. This new service will initially offer two channels: Sport 24, for live sporting action from around the world, and CNN International. The service will be available to passengers from both the seatback inflight entertainment and communications system and on their own personal electronic devices.

Continue reading full article »