@Altitude

Empowering people to be creative and productive in-flight.

Archive for July, 2017

Three airlines get a reality check on inflight Internet

Source: ausbt.com.au »

Recent changes to the inflight Internet plans of Emirates, Etihad Airways and Finnair are reducing the amount of data that many travellers can download and the amount of time they can spend online, unless they’re willing to pay more for the same amount of connectivity.

Continue reading full article »

Press Release: Air China selects Panasonic IFEC for Airbus A350s

Source: runwaygirlnetwork.com »

Air China, the flag carrier and one of the major airlines of the People’s Republic of China, has selected inflight entertainment and connectivity (IFEC) solutions from Panasonic Avionics Corporation (Panasonic) for its fleet of Airbus A350 aircraft.

Continue reading full article »

Asiana Airlines A350s Take Off With Panasonic Avionics

Source: prnewswire.co.uk »

Asiana Airlines, one of Asia’s largest carriers, has begun revenue service with its first A350 aircraft using Panasonic Avionics Corporation’s (Panasonic) industry-leading inflight entertainment and connectivity (IFEC) solution. This first aircraft, which was line fit with Panasonic solutions by Airbus, entered passenger service on May 15th having been delivered to the carrier on April 26th.

Continue reading full article »

CNN International: August Programming Highlights

Coming up on CNN International in-flight (Times are in GMT and CET and subject to change)

CNNi Talk Asia - AUGTalk Asia

A career civil servant, Carrie Lam’s decades of government experience have brought her to the top of Hong Kong’s political sphere. Her role as the new chief executive will be vital, acting as the go-between for the Chinese Central Government and Hong Kong, a special administrative region of China under the principle of “One Country, Two Systems”. Since the handover 20 years ago, Hong Kong has been growing increasingly polarized – many are wary over the growing influence of Beijing on its institutions including the freedom of speech and an independent judiciary. This month on Talk Asia, CNN’s Kristie Lu Stout sits down with Hong Kong’s first female leader to talk about her new role and what the future holds for the city of more than 7 million people.

Saturday 5 August at 0200 GMT and 0300 CET

Saturday 19 August 1230 GMT and 1330 CET

Sunday 20 August at 0430 GMT and 0530 CET

Monday 21 August at 0300 GMT and 0400 CET

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/asia/talk-asia

 

CNNi Going GreenGoing Green

CNN Going Green hosted by Nicki Shields features those “citizen heroes” across the world who are making a difference through innovation, ideas or community leadership. Some of the environmentalists to be profiled on the show include Selina Juul, a food waste warrior from Copenhagen; Robert Bezeau who set up Panama’s first recycling system; Seychelles Turtle conservationist Vanessa Didon; Dan Danahar, who has built a butterfly haven in Brighton; and a water conservationist and female plumber in Jordan.

Tuesday 1 August at 0930 GMT and 1030 CET / 1630 GMT and 1730 CET

Wednesday 2 August at 0330 GMT and 0430 CET / 0830 GMT and 0930 CET

 

CNNi Inspirations - Body SmartCNN Inspirations: Body Smart

How will technological change impact our healthcare options – both on a personal and global level?  CNN Inspirations: Body Smart hears from leaders in the world of medical technology as they take us through the developments impacting our future health decisions.  Recorded in front of an audience of young people at the McLaren Thought Leadership Centre, we explore the cutting edge medical technologies impacting our world.

Friday 11 August at 1900 GMT and 2000 CET

Saturday 12 August at 0200 GMT and 0300 CET / 1200 GMT and 1300 CET / 2000 GMT and 2100 CET

Sunday 13 August at 1000 GMT and 1100 CET

Monday 14 August at 0300 GMT and 0400 CET

#CNNInspirations

@HalaGorani

@ samuelcnn

 

CNNi In 24 Hours - AUGMiami in 24 Hours

In the clear ocean waters and summer sun of Miami, In 24 Hours explores a day in the city where fun and luxury interlace. Host James Williams starts off by exploring the sights of Miami Beach on the way to Gianni Versace’s former home, The Villa Casa Casuarina. Next, we visit Fisher Island to meet celebrity Chef Jeremy Ford as we spend a day in the sea catching some lunch.

In the early evening, we visit Crescent Moon Studios, where we meet Emily and Emilo Estefan, as they work on their next productions. Speaking of music and good beats, we couldn’t leave this city without experiencing its infamous nightlife. We visit the hottest club at the moment– LIV Nightclub at the Fontainebleau Hotel.

Wednesday 2 August at 0930 GMT and 1030CET / 1630 GMT and 1730 CET

Saturday 5 August at 0530 GMT and 0630 CET / 1830 GMT and 1930 CET

Sunday 6 August at 1130 GMT and 1230 CET

Saturday 12 August at 1130 GMT and 1230 CET

Sunday 13 August at 0530 GMT and 0630 CET / 1830 GMT and 1930 CET

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/travel/in-24-hours

Emirates gives free inflight WiFi to Skywards Platinums, Golds

Source: ausbt.com.au »

Emirates will now offer free unlimited inflight Internet to its Platinum and Gold members of its Skywards frequent flyer program, along with discounts for Skywards Silver and Blue passengers.

Continue reading full article »